Leadership Givers

For more than a thousand years, the red feather has been used as a reward for special acts. It was awarded for unusual acts of valor or chivalry during medieval times. American Indians awarded red dyed eagle feathers to their most fearless braves. Robin Hood awarded a red feather to his men for acts of exceptional goodness. 

Beginning in the early 1930's many United Ways adopted the red feather as a symbol of service to the community. Even today, people still refer to "Red Feather Agencies."

In the spirit of selflessness long associated with the red feather, the United Way of Lee County recognizes those who contribute to United Way with exceptional generosity to help people in need. Individuals who give $1,000 or more are offered membership and asked to wear our version of the red feather. 

Wearing this timeless symbol indicates more than simply a contribution of money. It indicates each member's leadership role in helping people care for one another. Their willingness to share inspires their friends and associates to join them in helping others who may be less fortunate. 

Our society has changed in many ways throughout the years. But the spirit embodied in the feather emblem remains the same: recognizing exceptional people who care.


Dr. Jo Heath

Dr. and Mrs. Gerald Leischuck

Mr. E.L. Spencer, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Terry Andrus

Dr. and Mrs. Richard Jaeger

Dr. Joseph Kicklighter

Dr. Andrew McLelland

Coach Bruce Pearl

Mr. and Mrs. Brycen and Annie Williams

Ms. Kathryn Adams

Dr. Hannah Alpert

Mr. Jason Bourassa

Mr. William Caldwell

Mr. and Mrs. Eric Canada

Mr. Mark Chambers

Mr. and Mrs. Matt Clegg

Mr. and Mrs. Al and Dudley Cook

Mr. Matthew Craft

Ms. Jan Dempsey

Mr. Bob Dumas

Dr. and Mrs. Richard Freeman

Ms. Carrissa Fuller

Mr. and Mrs. Gary Fuller

Dr. Ruth Galbraith


Dr. David Han

Mr. Richard Harrington

Dr. Stanley Harris

Dr. and Mrs. Calvin Johnson

Mr. Sebastian Lewis

Mr. Herbert Martin

Mr. and Mrs. James O'Connor

Dr. and Mrs. Paul Patterson

Dr. Joel Pittard

Dr. William Russell

Drs. William and Lane Sauser

Ms. Christina Shelby

Dr. and Mrs. Emmet Thompson

Dr. and Mrs. Emil Wright


Dr. Joseph Aistrup

Mr. Timmy Babe

Ms. Jill Barnett

Mr. and Mrs. Tutt Barrett

Ms. Karen Beckwith

Ms. Rebecca Benton

Dr. Werner Bergen

Dr. David Bergeron

Dr. Roland Beyers

Ms. Marka Blackerby

Mr. and Mrs. William Blakney

Ms. Robyn Bridges

Mr. Andy Burcham

Mr. and Mrs. Barry and Mary Burkhart

Mr. Dustin Casper

Mr. Michael Collette

Mr. and Mrs. Ab Conner

Mrs. Laura Cooper

Ms. Savanna Cooper

Mr. Thomas Cummings

Dr. Dennis Delaney

Ms. Kathryn Echols

Dr. Cathleen Erwin


Mr. James Foor

Ms. Alison Frazier

Mr. Marty Freeman

Dr. Brian Gibson

Dr. Richard Glaze

Mr. Guy Gunter

Ms. Lynne Hammond

Ms. Johnnie Harris

Mr. and Mrs. Norman Hensley

Dr. Georg Hetzer

Mr. Jay Hovey

Carnikko Johnson

Sheriff Jay Jones

Mr. Adam Keeton

Ms. Teresa Logiotatos

Mr. and Mrs. Paul and Dolly Marshall

Ms. Christina McClendon

Ms. Megan McGowen

Ms. Kathryn Molnar

Mr. Charles Mosley

Ms. Melissa Motley

Dr. Eduard Muljadi

Ms. Brenda Murray

Dr. Andrzej Nowak

Dr. Traci O'Brien

Mr. Steve Pelham

Mr. James Percy

Ms. Cindy Poteet

Ms. Kelli Ray

Mr. David Reaves

Ms. Becky Richardson

Dr. and Mrs. Robert and Charlot Ritenbaugh

Mr. David Salmon

Mr. and Mrs. Eddie Smith

Dr. Jeffery Smith

Mr. and Mrs. Jason Spears

Ms. Jean Spicer

Dr. and Mrs. Eugene Stanaland

Mr. Jeffrey Stewart

Ms. Shekena Stewart

Mr. Christopher Terry

Dr. Carol Warfield

Mr. John Wild

Mr. and Mrs. Marty and Robin Williams

Mr. and Mrs. K. Ted Wilson

Mr. Justin Zapp